Tesla

Tesla Semi Deliveries Begin: Range, Charging, and Production Limits Explained

Tesla entered a broader Semi customer-delivery phase from Nevada. Here is what the current customer, range and charging evidence confirms, and what remains undisclosed.

Erawish 4 min read
Conceptual electric freight truck leaving a factory at sunrise
Conceptual electric freight truck leaving a factory at sunrise

Tesla Semi • Customer deliveries • Range and charging

Tesla entered a broader Semi customer-delivery phase from its dedicated Nevada factory during the week of September 24, 2026. Reuters identified PepsiCo, DHL and US Foods among the customers shown, while Tesla's current page lists 325-mile and 500-mile configurations and up to 60% range recovery in 30 minutes. Pricing, current factory output and exact 2026 delivery volume remain undisclosed.

The milestone matters because it moves the current-generation Semi beyond factory preparation and limited earlier pilot deliveries. It does not, by itself, prove that Tesla is producing trucks at its stated annual-capacity target or that every fleet can obtain the truck, Megacharger access or a particular delivery date.

What changed at Tesla's September 2026 Semi rollout?

At the September 24 event in Sparks, Nevada, Tesla presented its dedicated Semi factory and said it was beginning deliveries to a current group of customers that week. Reuters reported from the event that the company did not disclose truck pricing or a current production-volume plan.

This is broader than Tesla's limited customer deliveries that began in 2022, but it is not evidence that every reservation has converted into a truck. Tesla's current Semi page invites fleets to contact the company and says deliveries start in 2026. The page does not publish a retail configurator, delivery estimate for every customer or a live factory-output counter.

Which customers are receiving Tesla Semi trucks now?

A separate Reuters event brief names PepsiCo, DHL and US Foods among the customers identified by Tesla executives. Those names establish participation in the current rollout; they do not establish the number of trucks delivered to each company, the timing of every fleet deployment or the economics of each route.

Pre-event images also showed trucks wearing other customer liveries, but visual branding alone is not enough to claim a completed delivery, a firm order quantity or an in-service fleet. This guide therefore keeps the confirmed customer answer to the names supported by current event reporting and leaves unverified quantities out.

What are the current Tesla Semi range and charging specifications?

Tesla's current U.S. Semi page lists two configurations:

  • Standard Range: an estimated 325 miles, 1.7 kWh per mile estimated energy consumption and up to 800 kW drive power.
  • Long Range: an estimated 500 miles, 1.7 kWh per mile estimated energy consumption and up to 800 kW drive power.
  • Fast charging: up to 60% of range in 30 minutes. Tesla separately describes Megacharger capability of up to 1.2 MW.

These are manufacturer specifications, not a guarantee for every haul. Tesla says its range and energy estimates use an 82,000-pound gross combination weight, 55 mph, 20 C, flat ground, a tandem-axle aero kit and a CARB-compliant dry-van trailer. Tire choice, roof fairing and trailer configuration can materially affect projected consumption. The charging statement is also an up-to claim and depends on the relevant truck, charger and operating conditions.

Does Tesla's factory capacity prove its current production volume?

No. Reuters says Tesla reiterated a plan to build 50,000 Semis per year at the Nevada plant, but the same event report says the company did not disclose its current production-volume plan. A designed annual capacity or future target is not the same as the present manufacturing rate, completed deliveries or a verified 2026 total.

Tesla's Q2 2026 investor update listed the Nevada Semi factory as commissioning with installed annual capacity still marked TBD, while saying Semi remained on schedule for production in 2026. The September event is newer evidence that production and customer deliveries have advanced, but it still does not reveal a daily rate, ramp curve or exact year-end volume.

What remains unknown for fleets?

  • Price: Tesla did not disclose current truck pricing at the event.
  • Current output: neither factory capacity nor trucks shown at one event establishes the ongoing production rate.
  • Delivery timing: the reviewed public sources do not provide a schedule for every fleet inquiry or order.
  • Charging availability: up to 1.2 MW describes Megacharger capability, not universal public Megacharger coverage for every route.
  • Fleet economics: manufacturer efficiency and maintenance claims do not substitute for route-specific energy prices, payload, weather, dwell time, incentives and service costs.
  • Autonomy: discussion of future autonomous-driving features does not establish availability on the trucks delivered in this rollout.

Bottom line

The September rollout confirms a real current step: Tesla is moving Semi trucks from its dedicated Nevada factory into a broader customer-delivery phase, with PepsiCo, DHL and US Foods named in event reporting. The strongest public specifications remain the 325-mile Standard Range, 500-mile Long Range, 1.7 kWh-per-mile estimate and up-to-1.2 MW Megacharger capability. Treat factory capacity, pricing, exact delivery counts and future autonomy as separate unanswered questions.

For more ownership, charging and technology coverage, browse the Erawish Tesla guides. The featured image is a conceptual illustration, not a photograph of Tesla's factory, Semi design or customer handover.

Sources